Four seniors earn Illinois State Scholar honors


Seniors Dee-Dee Burgess, Jaelyn Leib, Janna Leib and Angelia Warren will be honored as Flora High School’s 2015 Illinois State Scholars at halftime of a Wolves basketball game, at the Academic Foundation’s high honors banquet, and at an ROE district banquet.

Recipients are chosen based on a combination of ACT scores from a test taken during their junior year and their overall high school GPA. The designation is part of a scholarship program from the Illinois State Assistance Commission. Recipients are eligible for various financial assistance through the program. Approximately 10% of Illinois high school graduates earn the honor.

Burgess is the daughter of Becky Burgess and the late Brent Burgess; Jaelyn Leib is the daughter of Curtis and Holly Leib; Janna Leib is the daughter of Jason and Leslie Leib, and Angelia Warren is the daughter of Bryce and Catharine Phillips.

Posted by on December 18, 2015. Filed under News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.